The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Shows (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-shows/)
-   -   butterflys in tummy, before a show??? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-shows/butterflys-tummy-before-show-45154/)

luvmyqh 01-14-2010 10:29 PM

butterflys in tummy, before a show???

i get them all the time and i have been showing for over 15 years!! will they ever go away!!????? please!!! lol and what happends to you be for a show??? beacuse i have one on sat... and i know i will not beable to sleep tonight or tomorrow night!!!

TheGoldenFilly 01-15-2010 08:26 AM

Some people just always seem to get nervous before shows or performances in any situation. What I'd be concerned most about (besides of course the uncomfortable feeling :wink:) is how your horse is reacting.

The first reaction we get is the adrenaline. This is part of our survival instinct, but goes a little bit deeper than that. We produce adrenaline because, first off, it gets us more energy, and second because we can take in more of our surroundings. Something interesting about how the body reacts in addition to excreting adenaline is that the network of nerves surrounding our digestive tract releases histamines that inflammate the small intestine. This triggers immune cells from our bloodstream to go and gather in the imflammated areas. Now, why all this just because of the "fight or flight" instinct? Because that is a way of preparing for a potential slash or hit in the gut. If we get a cut right in our abdomen (our most vulnerable area) without the infection-creating bodily juices, but instead, with a constricted, immunity-cell flourishing bloodstream, we have a greater chance of survival.

When our adrenaline starts pumping, our minds often begin to race. We might start to think things like "Oh god, oh god, I gotta tack up, gotta go faster, hurry what if I'm late, what if I forget to.....?"