The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Maybe Getting My Own Horse .... Maybe (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/maybe-getting-my-own-horse-maybe-47166/)

Marielw 02-06-2010 03:22 PM

Maybe Getting My Own Horse .... Maybe

Hubby is saying this is the year we're getting 2 horses. He needs horses for hunting. His knees/hips can't take the hike into the areas he has to get to for good hunting. I have wanted a horse ... oh ... since birth? :lol:

I am pretty skeptical just because I have been riding again since 2006, but wind up with some pretty sore joints and back. Have some injuries and issues to contend with. I'm in my late 40s. I'm not sure I can ride several times a week and probably SHOULD be riding EVERY day.

I have NO IDEA how to care for a horse. I'm worried about the vet bills. That's ANOTHER trailer we'll have to buy. We will have to board them. We have no barn, flowing water or pasture grassy area for horses right now. Maybe in another 5 years ... but not now. :-(

AND I'm reading a lot of people here that are giving up or are ready to. If it is really that hard, I don't know if I can do this. Hubby travels about 10 months of the year, so all of this would be on me. YES ... hubby will have the benefit of riding them for hunting and some trail rides, but all the work is on me. I know the 'barn' will do some of the work, as part of boarding, don't they?

How much joy compared to the workload? How do you KNOW if this is for you?

In Doubt

upnover 02-06-2010 05:43 PM