The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Dressage saddle with three billets? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/dressage-saddle-three-billets-47807/)

Mickey4793 02-13-2010 09:31 AM

Dressage saddle with three billets?
 
Ok, so I bought a very beautiful dark dark reddish brown color off the owner of the barn that I keep my horse. It's extremely comfortable and fits my horse like a glove.
I did not ask, now do I have a guess, as to the make of the saddle, or where she got it from.

She gave me a girth to go with it, but me and my mom wanted to get a different type of girth for it, so we went out looking for a new girth.

We took to old girth to the tack shop so we could compare sizes, and that's when we realized something odd: Our dressage saddle has three girth billets! Two regular ones on the outside and a thinner one in the middle, and the girth has three buckles to accommodate. We searched and searched and searched but could not find a dressage girth with three buckles!

Any idea's where I could find a dressage girth like this/ what company makes dressage saddles like this?

Mickey4793 02-13-2010 09:42 AM

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h2...1127091820.jpgThere's a picture of it, for some reason in the picture the middle billet is out of place and farther up because of the way the saddle's sitting on the rack

My Beau 02-13-2010 02:19 PM

I don't know who makes dressage saddles, but here's a 3 buckle girth. Unfortunately, all the sites I checked only offer it in black.

"Kennett" Black Leather Dressage Girth

shadowanne 02-14-2010 12:52 AM

Maybe it's like a jump saddle where you only use 2 to girth but you have the choice of which two to use based on the fit of your horse, etc.

englishrider 02-14-2010 12:56 AM

In lessons our dressage saddle has 3 billets but we only use the 1st and the last billet and ignore the middle. Hope that helps :)

My Beau 02-14-2010 07:52 AM

I don't believe you're supposed to ignore it. Since these billets are way longer than jumping saddles they aren't hidden by the flaps and would be flapping around all over the place...

Mickey4793 02-14-2010 08:51 AM

I agree with Beau, if I don't use of of the straps it flops around due to it's length. But thanks guys :]

shadowanne 02-15-2010 05:10 PM

Oh.. yeah, that's a good point. I'd personally remove one (cut it) rather then try to hunt down a 3 billet dressage girth. Unless you think it would effect the integrity of saddle fit.

QHDragon 02-16-2010 11:53 AM

Its to keep the flap down and to create less bulk. A lot of older saddles have them, I rarely see them on the newer saddles. Check ebay, I saw a brown one on there with the three spots just a couple of weeks ago.

shadowanne 02-16-2010 02:17 PM

Well the newer Wintecs have them (Pro, Isabell) - I cut the one off my Isabell - my leg is going to keep the flap down well enough once it's broken in. I thought the OP was referring to an actual billet, not a separate strap on both sides of flaps.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0