The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Western Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/)
-   -   Western Pleasure clothing (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/western-pleasure-clothing-48617/)

Five Furlongs 02-22-2010 08:25 PM

Western Pleasure clothing

I am thinking of trying some really low level western pleasure classes with my mare this summer. I am new to the western world and was wondering what type of clothes you would wear?

Roperchick 02-22-2010 08:36 PM

If its not big league kind of riding i would stick with just a plain western shirt and black pants. Its cheap but you're supposed to be judged on your horse and your riding technique not the price of you outfit. simple western attire should be fine/

GottaRide 02-23-2010 09:19 AM

Plain western shirt = long sleeve, button down with collar.

Jeans are appropriate, but make sure they cover your backside. Western jeans are designed much differently from fashion jeans. Also make sure they are long enough to reach the heel of your boot when you are in the saddle.

Ridehorses99 02-23-2010 04:50 PM

Ditto to the above comments.....nice western shirt, jeans or black pants, hat, and boots and you are set for your first show. Make sure your horse, tack, and clothes are clean and neat.

Have fun !!

Five Furlongs 02-23-2010 05:47 PM

Thanks, this is really helpful. Can the shirt just be plain white or black? I always see people with these really intense colored or patterned shirts. Also I was just thinking, would it be bad to wear a normal helmet into a class? And should my pants be out of my boots or tucked in? Thanks for all your help. I love learning all about this new kinf of riding :D

Ridehorses99 02-26-2010 01:15 PM