The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Moving your horse cross country (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/moving-your-horse-cross-country-48882/)

JackandGina 02-26-2010 10:58 AM

Moving your horse cross country

This past May I graduated college and it has always been a dream of mine to move out west somewhere like California or down south. I am currently in snowy Maryland and would like a little more sunshine in my life!! I obviously would be taking my horse wherever I go but I was wondering if anyone has ever moved their horse a great distance like that and what their experiences were? I personally do not have a trailer but two of my cousins do, however if I went all the way out to California do they have special ways you could get your horse shipped out there? Also about how much would that potentially cost? Thank you so much!

ps. does anyone live in the San Diego or Jacksonville FL region that recommends any farms for boarding?!

CecilliaB 02-26-2010 11:39 AM

Sure have. I moved my gelding just this past summer from San Diego, CA to Beaufort SC. It cost me a little over $2000.00 for the large stall (he's long) I used Nation Wide Horse Transportationhttp://www.nwht.net/

They do cross country trips in two legs from CA to CO where they are based out of (with a 2-3 day turn out and they check to make sure they are not stressing or having any problems) to SC. Trip in total I think took about 10 days. He arrived in great condition with a few less pounds, dead of summer stress of trip. But they were wonderful to him and have great communication.

We are military so next big move we make if I don't have a trailer or cannot co-ordinate lay overs for him I will use them again.

thesilverspear 02-27-2010 08:41 AM