The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Big decisions: advice please! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/big-decisions-advice-please-49549/)

barnbumgirlie02 03-07-2010 01:24 PM

Big decisions: advice please!

Okay, so here's the deal: I have wanted a horse since I was three years old and went on my first pony ride at the pumpkin patch. I would beg my parents to buy me one for every birthday and christmas ever since. When I was 14, they got me a job at a stable. I have been working there for over four years now, mucking stalls, rotating the horses, feeding and watering, and general barn cleaning. I've learned how to ride and went to camps, etc.

Now, I am 18 years old and heading off to college (only 3.5 hours away) in August. I got a full ride, so my parents don't have to pay for anything: tuition, room and board, meal plan...it's all covered. SO, they are considering getting me a horse! My first thought: YES! Dream come true, after 15 years of begging and waiting. My second thought: holy crap, I'm going to college now. I've been to college-like programs over the summer, and I don't think it will be TOO difficult of an adjustment for me, but I'm still worried. I would get the horse in June probably, so I would have the whole summer to get to know him or her and get used to the added responsibility. There are stalls available at the university farm for a pretty cheap price, and the farm is just minutes from my dorm.

So I guess what I would like to know is... What are your thoughts on bringing a horse to college? Should I take my chance at finally getting a horse, now that it has come? OR wait until after college? Any thoughts would be appreciated, I'm reallly stuck here.

Cheshire 03-07-2010 01:54 PM