The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Riding Advice. (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/riding-advice-49642/)

stormyweather101 03-08-2010 04:18 PM

Riding Advice.

I have been riding for about 5 or 6 years. I want to start getting majorly involved in riding. ( which i kind of already am) but my parents dont have ht emoney to get me a horse, or to have me take more than one lesson a week. I am 13 years old and I can jump 3 feet. Does anyone have any ideas of what I can do to make it big in the horse world?

maura 03-08-2010 06:11 PM

First of all, forget about "making it big" and focus on "making it better" or "making it good"

A logical next step would be to lease or half lease a horse. Good way for a riding school student to kick it up a notch by being able to ride more that once a week and to get the opportunity to practice unsupervised. If that is not an option for you, approach your instructor or barn owner and ask what chores you can do to earn extra lessons or the opportunity to ride on your own. A great job for an intermediate lesson student is to help get beginner lessons mounted and in the ring - adjust stirrups, tighten girths and check helmets.

Learn to groom, learn to pull manes, clip heads and feet, learn to braid. Make sure everybody at your lesson barn knows you're willing to do this type of work. Ask if there are any boarders who would like their horses exercised when they can't ride.

Also ask your instructor if you can stay in the ring with her will she teaches and assist her with setting fences, etc., see what you can learn from observing her teach and asking the occassional question. Demonstrate your committment by doing lots of research and reading on your own, and ask thoughtful questions. Find other equine professionals to observe and ask questions.

~*~anebel~*~ 03-08-2010 07:41 PM