The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Needing advice on what kind, size, and style of saddle to get (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/needing-advice-what-kind-size-style-49804/)

Jamie2103 03-10-2010 07:14 PM

Needing advice on what kind, size, and style of saddle to get

I am new to the English style of riding and I have some questions, so I thought this would be a good place for ideas.....So, I have a Paint mare that I am wanting to get an English saddle for. I stand about 6'0 130 lbs. My riding instructor told me that I need at least an 18" saddle with an extended flap....I am wanting to do some jumping but not anything too serious. I also enjoy just trail/yard riding :) So she told me to get a Close Contact...I had thought I might need an all-purpose. So if you all have any ideas I would really appreciate that! Also if you all know any good affordable saddle shops, or certain manufacturers that tend to be suited for taller people.

kitten_Val 03-11-2010 08:42 AM

Frankly, if you wanna do trail riding and just some jumping I'd go with A/P. It's more comfortable and secure for the trail rides IMO, and you still can jump in it.