The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Law (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-law/)
-   -   Horse Slaughter Ban- Worldwide (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-law/horse-slaughter-ban-worldwide-50650/)

FlightFireNurse 03-22-2010 11:59 AM

Horse Slaughter Ban- Worldwide

Hello all,

I have been raised around horsed my entire life and showed when I was younger. My mother is a volunteer for the USERL and we have a great passion for horses.

I am a student and I have to write a paper arguing a topic of my choice.

I have chosen to argue that horse slaughter should be banned worldwide. Other than the obvious reasons, I am looking for other reasons and thought you guys could help me out a little more.

Thank you in advance!

-FFN

kevinshorses 03-22-2010 12:13 PM

I completely disagree and if you did a little research you would realize what the problems would be. Horses are not pets in many areas of the world and are used for food because hungry people don't generaly waste hundreds of pounds of meat and there are alot of hungry people in the world. Enviromentaly it would be a disaster. Here in teh U.S. there are nearly 10 million horses and the lack of slaughter facilities is causing some enviromental concerns due to the difficulty and expense to bury an animal the size of a horse. There is also no entity that can enforce a world wide ban and that's a good thing.

Since the bleeding hearts have managed to shut down horse processing in the US there have been hundreds of horses abandoned around the country. In the west they are dumped on public land and in the east they are dumped at state parks and along roads where they often get hit by cars or starve.

It's a bad idea and it would be impossible to enforce even if it was a good idea. Think with your head and not your heart and you will see reality.

mls 03-22-2010 12:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FlightFireNurse (Post 582833)