The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Spurs? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/spurs-51195/)

Tyler 03-29-2010 02:16 PM

Spurs?

Several years ago, before I got my horse, I was given a pair of spurs (mainly to decorate my bookshelf). Now that I have a horse, I'm wondering what are the pros and cons of using spurs when riding? Should I or shouldn't I?

Speed Racer 03-29-2010 02:42 PM

Why do you think you need them?

I've been riding for 32 years and have never worn spurs.

Unless your horse is dead-sided and you need spurs to keep him going, or you're planning on showing in the upper levels that require spurs as part of your turnout, I can't see any good reason for you to use them.

Unless you've been trained to use them properly, they can be turned into instruments of torture for the horse.

They're rarely necessary, and can be cruel if not used correctly.

Tyler 03-29-2010 02:58 PM

He has problems getting-up. There's nothing I can do (besides pulling his head to the side) to get him to move when I'm on him.

Could you define "dead-sided" please? Thanks. =)

Speed Racer 03-29-2010 03:17 PM

Dead-sided means he doesn't respond to your leg cues to move forward.

How long have you been riding, and do you have an instructor?

You should NEVER wear spurs unless you've been properly trained in their use.

Slashing at him with spurs to make him go is a very bad and cruel idea, especially if you have no clue how to use them.

Like whips and crops, spurs are supposed to be aids, not torture devices that get a horse going in order to get away from the pain.

equiniphile 03-29-2010 03:18 PM