The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   My Friend wants Crtique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/my-friend-wants-crtique-51813/)

Phantomcolt18 04-05-2010 03:40 PM

My Friend wants Crtique

This is my friend riding in her jumping lesson. I forget the horse's breed but i knows he's about 17hh tall. She wants to find out how she's doing and in this video the last jump at the oxer the horse took the long spot and she wasnt ready for it...but in this lesson they worked with oxers, roll-backs, and normal schooling. In her words she says "Be Brutal":wink: so you have her permission to rip her riding apart haha.

kmacdougall 04-05-2010 04:15 PM

I'm not very good at this but I'll give it a go!
1 - unsteady leg. I like my jumpers, and this is most likely a jumper lesson, to have a nice steady leg, especially in the lower levels where riders can't really compensate quickly for their mistakes as the 1.2M + and GP riders can, having a good base of support under you is a great skill to have.
2 - her arms look stiff and at some points it seems like her elbows are "flapping". At times she seems to "fling" the horse over the fence - he's a good boy. He knows his job. A release is sufficient, she doesn't need to throw his face away.
3 - the last jump was actually a BAD landing - she was behind the motion and it looked for a second to me like she was going to come off.
4 - at times it seems like she has no seat - she's just bouncing around up there. Lower leg and relaxing her back will help with this.
5 - PERSONAL OPINION is that I never jump a jump with a ground line on the landing side. It was drilled into my head in pony club, accidents happen, and ground lines are for approaches, not landings.