The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Meet the Community (http://www.horseforum.com/meet-community/)
-   -   Better late than never. (http://www.horseforum.com/meet-community/better-late-than-never-5243/)

tim 01-11-2008 07:33 PM

Better late than never.

So I'm sure you're wondering why I didn't do this a long time ago. I dunno, I just didn't.

My name's Tim as you've guessed, and if you've read the Facebook thread you'd know my full name. I've been riding for a little over 10 years now.

I live in Virginia and I board my one and only horse at Lambert Quarter Horses in Powhatan. It's a small five horse private operation, but it has everything I need.

I generally show locally but I do prefer larger shows. I find they actually simplify things, but at the same time they keep me occupied more. Boredom kills me and my horse I think.

I strictly show western but I've done my fair share of english riding as well. I've competed in showmanship (my least favorite), pleasure (my favorite), horsemanship, and working western pattern (a 4-H invention that fits between horsemanship and reining.) Showing really makes horseback riding for me. It occupies my time and it's so easy to get caught up in, it really lends a sense of purpose.

I'm attending a transfer college right now and driving from home. Otherwise I don't think I'd get to ride besides on holidays. I've got my eyes on William & Mary for my four year.