The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   The Right Horse - Just thought I'd Share It! (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/right-horse-just-thought-id-share-52572/)

RideroftheWind 04-13-2010 07:33 PM

The Right Horse - Just thought I'd Share It!

I've been riding for only a few years, and I've liked all the horses I've ridden. But I've never really felt a connection with any of them until now. I started riding a horse named Lucky. He's an amazing horse, and he's so fun to ride! He listens really well for me. The thing is, everyone I know who's ridden him has said he is stubborn, headstrong, and a speed demon. Wha-? That's not the Lucky I know!

From the first day that I met him, it was like we had some sort of special bond. He listens very well for me. However, I've seen some of the best riders I know on his back, and he was giving them such a hard time! But when I ride him, he listens like an angel.

My question is, why me? Do horses just choose who they like and who they don't like him, or is it all about what I've done and my first impressions? I mean, he's a lesson horse, and he gets ridden by tons of people, but why would he choose to listen to me better?

When I first met him, I talked to him quietly as I entered his stall. He didn't seem very interested in me. I let him sniff my hand, and then blew softly on his muzzle (like I do with all the horses when I greet them). He blew back, and I led him out. I tacked him up, and he seemed pretty tense. I still had a few minutes left before my lesson, so I started rubbing his neck and withers (I've heard that it helps calm a horse down). I've been riding him once a week since then, and by now he nickers every time he sees me. I always massage/rub his neck before the ride, which seems to calm him down a lot. Does that have anything to do with it?