The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Starting to train others' horses.. need help! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/starting-train-others-horses-need-help-5341/)

JustDressageIt 01-15-2008 11:01 PM

Starting to train others' horses.. need help!

Hello all,

I was recently contacted by a woman wanting me to put some time in on her mare.
I have been riding and training for 15+ years, and have trained many a young one in my time, but have never taken on another person's horse for training (for profit) before. I am confident that I can do my job well... but I need some help with minor details:

- should I get her to fill out any liability forms?
- how much should I charge? I'm probably going to be training this horse 2-3 times per week, and taking the time out to drive a half hour to her barn.
-is there anything else to be concerned about?

Any tips or anything at all would be wonderful and greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

jazzyrider 01-15-2008 11:17 PM

Re: Starting to train others' horses.. need help!

Quote:

Originally Posted by JustDressageIt
Hello all,

I was recently contacted by a woman wanting me to put some time in on her mare.
I have been riding and training for 15+ years, and have trained many a young one in my time, but have never taken on another person's horse for training (for profit) before. I am confident that I can do my job well... but I need some help with minor details:

- should I get her to fill out any liability forms?
- how much should I charge? I'm probably going to be training this horse 2-3 times per week, and taking the time out to drive a half hour to her barn.
-is there anything else to be concerned about?

Any tips or anything at all would be wonderful and greatly appreciated. Thanks!!