The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Thinking about switching degrees (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/thinking-about-switching-degrees-54229/)

EventersBabe 05-03-2010 07:01 PM

Thinking about switching degrees
 
Okay so the first two years I am finishing up basics for college. Then I am going two more years to another college to major in child education.
I want to do that. But I am thinking about switching majors.

This place I am thinking about has an Equestrian team and its only flat work its nothing over fences and well I can try out for the equestrian team.

Then I can major in Equine science.
I am really intrested in majoring in that.

But I also want to be a preschool teacher so thats why I was thinking about a major in child education. Could I major in both?

paintsrule 05-03-2010 07:03 PM

Couldnt you major in child education and minor in equestrian science? That way you could focus more on what will be your money maker (edu.) and then still learn and get a degree in horses.

EventersBabe 05-03-2010 07:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by paintsrule (Post 623551)
Couldnt you major in child education and minor in equestrian science? That way you could focus more on what will be your money maker (edu.) and then still learn and get a degree in horses.

Thats what I was thinking. Can I major in two?
I mean i want to someday start a barn facility and buisness.

ptvintage 05-03-2010 07:32 PM

I noticed a bunch of your threads here recently, all pretty much about the same thing...

I think you should talk to an parents, student councilor or close adult about this. No one here knows your situation and how practical your dreams are. An adult who knows what your financial limitations are, knows your talent, and knows your general plan for the future will be able to give you much better advice. And discuss it with someone other than your boyfriend... if he's close to your age, he doesn't have the kind of life experience needed to be able to help you make the best decision.

Now, keeping in mind I don't know you, my only advice would be that there are tons and tons of girls that grew up riding, and there's only a small percentage that end up teaching/making money off horses. And an even smaller percentage of them are truly qualified to teach others to ride. Based just on cold hard statistics, it's unlikely you will be able to make a living teaching others to ride. You will need another source of income.

Keep your major in child education. You will need it.

AlmostThere 05-03-2010 07:36 PM

You might look into the exact requirements for being a pre-school teacher. They are not that vigorous. You may be able to get an early childhood education certification in a two year (or less) program. Then you can focus on getting your four year degree in equestrian studies.

Another way to go might be to work part time at a pre-school or day care while you get your four year degree. The hands on experience may take you farther than the degree.

Most schools allow double majoring, it is just a lot more work - especially in two such unrelated fields. You might be able to manage a degree in equestrian studies with a minor in child development or early childhood education. The key is to contact the college you intend to attend and see what is available (and you may be able to get that information directly off their website without having to talk to anyone).

Sophie19 05-03-2010 07:41 PM

Have you worked or volunteered with children at all? I am an early childhood education major and I love it, but I know a lot of people who get into the classroom and realize that it's not for them. I would call a elementary school near you and ask if you could observe in their classrooms. That would be a good start to knowing which career option you want to pursue. I know that at my school it is a little difficult to minor in something while in the teaching department because of work in the field, but every programs different. Also, you don't have to minor in something to take some classes that interest you and test out if it is something you want to do. You can always change your major or pick up a minor. Double majoring is hard and would probally take you more than two years, since you cant really take other classes the semester that you student teach.

Sophie19 05-03-2010 07:43 PM

Also talk to an advisor in each department to see what your options are. You defiantly want to know exactly how long it will take you and the logistics of your options before you make a decision.

EventersBabe 05-03-2010 08:14 PM

I talked with my Mom she said, thats sounds like a good idea and to answer your question
Sophie19 I have been around children my entire life I have been working with children at my church since I can remember I LOVE children. I defintally do not think it be something I wouldn't want to do.

Almostthere-I have been applying at all of the daycares in my area because I want more experience. Plus I work with childcare on saturday nights at my church and childcare during church on sundays.

Ptvintage- My fiance not boyfriend is my age and he helps me with a lot of my choices so I would defintally go to him about it.

But I have talked with my parents. My mom is a xcollege director and has knowledge in how to find the right school for students.

But how ever I am already a college student at a two year community college I already looked into a few colleges that offer both degrees.

So this summer me and the fiance are going to visit to decide were we want to go.

Were both adults.

Oh i know I wont be able to make a complete living on teaching lessons. There is soo much more to it that I am planning on doing.

I am living on my parents land with them except in my own house after we move they said, that they would build a small house for myself and tyler but he wont move in until after we are married. I choose not to live on my own. But when I am at a college after community well Id be living on my own for only 2 years maybe a little more.

btw. I will probably teach kids for a long time and make the teaching lessons my side job until I can fully fulfill my dreams that goes into a buisness with horses.

Yes it will take a very long time but I will get there with the help of people around me my fiance who also be majoring in buisness.

:)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0