The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeds (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/)
-   -   Growth??? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/growth-55034/)

qtrsnkids 05-14-2010 02:51 PM

Growth???

1 Attachment(s)
I have a buckskin filly dob 5/10/2007. For the last 6 months she has been 13.2 at withers, and 14.2 at hip. Any ideas on if she will grow into herself? She has always been this way, hip has been taller. She doesn't seem to catch up. Here is a pic, not her best.

smrobs 05-14-2010 02:58 PM

I am assuming that she is a Quarter Horse? If so, it is fairly common for them to be a little bit butt high though not quite that high. She is only a 3 year old this year and it is not uncommon for a young horse to grow in height until they are 4 or 5. I had a mustang that shot up another 2 inches in height after I started riding him when he was 5. Do you know what her parents look like? Are they both moderately downhill?

qtrsnkids 05-14-2010 02:59 PM

1 Attachment(s)
here is one from when she was younger.

qtrsnkids 05-14-2010 03:02 PM

Her registered name AQHA is Ler Top O the Twist AKA Chevy. I have seen both of her parents, and either one of them doesn't slope like that. Both have great conformation.

smrobs 05-14-2010 03:19 PM

If both her parents have good conformation, then I will say that it is likely she will level out most of the way as she gets older. I won't guarantee it because you can never be certain how a horse will turn out until they are through growing, but many horses (especially QH) go through many fugly stages where they look like 2 horses stuck together and grow up to be really nice looking. I would just give her some more time and see if she starts levelling out. Horses will often take a pause in their growth for extended periods of time. I am just now finding that out. My 10 month old is 14.2 and has been for the last 2 months. I know one of these days I am gonna look at him and he will have shot up another hand LOL.