The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Purchasing a horse in India (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/purchasing-horse-india-5560/)

Jatt 01-26-2008 12:16 AM

Purchasing a horse in India

Hi guys,

Hows it goin? New to the forum but the layout looks awsome lol, either way, I'm new to horse's, I've just begun taking lessons here in Alberta and am loving each minute of it, I plan on purchasing a horse overseas in the Punjab region of India, a Marwari mare, I'm not sure if you guys have heard of them before but:

http://marwarihorse.com/blogger/uplo...rse-798501.JPG

http://www.ridingholidays.com/imagenew/marwari1.jpg

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f1...s/Dev_raj1.jpg

I know the Marwari is almost unheard of in North America, but these horses are amazingly beautiful and endurance oriented. They are a mix of Arabian and I'm not sure what else, but they were bred heavily back in the 11th and 12th century in North-West India. These horses were mainly used for war and are known for their attachment to their masters, there are many tales about the horse dieing with its owner in war rather then fleeing. Their main trademark is the curled in ears, the more curled, the more its worth, white colour is also highly prized.

Horses in our region are highly respected, many people stopped owning them simply because they know how much attention a horse requires and only keep one if they know they will have atleast one of their labourers dedicated to its upkeep. This horse is a sign of nobility and courage, and is almost exclusively the horse of choice for Rajput and Jatt tribes/clans.