The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   A funny thing happned on the way back from the barn... (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/funny-thing-happned-way-back-barn-56054/)

iridehorses 05-28-2010 08:32 AM

A funny thing happned on the way back from the barn...

Well the ribs finally healed enough to give the new mare a ride. I’ve been working her for the past two months from the ground and she’ been fine but I’ve never ridden her. In fact I’ve never even seen her ridden except in a video. Yesterday was the day. I only intended to saddle her and work her on a lunge then ride her today. She was so good that I decided to put my foot in the stirrup to see what she would do – nothing. It was at least close to 9 months since she was last ridden but she moved off my cues like she was ridden yesterday.

Well, we rode out in the field for a bit at a walk and I got off and on her a few times to see how she would react. No problem. We headed back to the barn so that I could turn her out. We are working on ground tying and she is pretty good at it. I removed her saddle and pad, took off her bridle and put on her halter, all by the tack room in the “common” area of my dirt floor barn. My tack room is a step down from the common area and I was only there for a few moments when she decided to wonder – we’re still working on ground tying, as I said.