The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Should I get a horse ...

3K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  Sphi 
#1 ·
Logic says I should not get a horse. I am a university student. In July I am moving to Oxfordshire to start a year's work placement, then I am returning to Bath for my final year of university, and then - who knows.

But recently I've had the opportunity to take care of and ride some horses and I'm loving it. The thing is, I have no idea if I'd be able to handle it in mid-winter or when I got bored, so to speak - I'm not a full-on horse-mad person. This suggests to me that a fixed-term loan would be a better option, for maybe three or six months. And I should wait until I'm settled in my new home and job. But grrrr, it's so hard to think about this >< I'm tying myself up in knots.

#2 ·
If you think you're going to get bored, then I dont suggest getting a horse at all. If you horses are truly an interest to you, then I suggest saving up for it, or waiting until you can afford instead of taking out a loan.

Wait until you are done school and settled before you look at the expense of a horse.

Cheers.

#3 ·
A horse isn't a plaything, riding and working with horses is a great option, but unless you're completely sure, then do not get a horse. The amount of time it takes to care for a horse and the amount of money it takes can really turn a person off if they're not really into it- you might find yourself hating something you had previously loved. Not to mention, what're you going to do with it while you're away?
If I were you, I'd continue to ride other people's horses, take lessons or lease (much less expensive than horse ownership!) and see how you feel about it after your schooling is done.

Have you been riding for awhile, or is this a recent hobby?

#5 ·