The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Is it normal to stop liking riding horses? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/normal-stop-liking-riding-horses-56727/)

SomeRandom 06-07-2010 03:07 AM

Is it normal to stop liking riding horses?

Okay so, I'm a boy 15 years old, I've been riding for roughly 6 years and I guess it was pretty fun when I started learning but now its getting boring, I'm thinking of quitting horse riding and focusing more on other sports like tennis.

So basically what I'm trying to ask is, does horse riding get boring after a while and should I stop?

Cougar 06-07-2010 05:20 AM

Only you can know for yourself if you should continue or not. But! Just like anything else in your life riding can get boring if you are not challenging yourself properly. Maybe try taking lessons and up the difficulty level of what you are doing? Or switch what style of riding you do? If you ride Western maybe try riding English or vice versa. If you do a lot of ring work go trail riding. Switch it up.

RedTree 06-07-2010 06:59 AM

if you have been doing the same stuff for 6 years then it probably would get boring. I have been riding for around 5 years, started off english went to western for a bit, went back to english starting showing at low levels, jumping more and going on trial rides more.
Mix it up if you have been doing the same thing

PaintHorseMares 06-07-2010 07:23 AM