The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Balance

3K views 14 replies 6 participants last post by  Sara 
#1 ·
My balance is HORRID. I can only trot a few steps bareback without falling off, not to mention my horse's trot is wicked.

When I ride my horse I feel like I'm trying to balance on a ball that is way to slippery. I'm completely a saddle cripple.

I can't ride a unicycle so I need to learn balance a different way. Help please?

EDIT----
Someone told me yoga would help, is that true?

#2 ·
Yoga probably does help (not sure because I started yoga long after I started riding). Aside from balance, it definitely helps with overall body/muscle control and flexibility that you need for riding.

As for what else you can do...I dunno. Anything that requires side-to-side balance (moreso than front-to-back). Bicycling is probably the closest. Skiing too, I guess.

ed. I will say, from your description, it sounds more like a tension issue than a balance issue.

#4 ·
If you are getting bounced off at the trot, it usually means your body is tense and resisting the motion instead of going with it.

This can either be mental or physical: if a person is at some level unsure of their balance, they will be more tense.

Also, if you are not particularly flexible through the hips, it is physically much harder to follow the movement (especially if the horse has a big stride).

Yoga is excellent exercise for the latter, and I would suggest more time riding for the former: especially lunge lessons.

#5 ·
Ha ha, as dumb as this may sound, my friends and I use to play "barrel bull riding" and it really tests your grip. You take a barrel, such as a barrel for barrel racing, and you put in on a trampoline and you get on and ride it, and have people bounce you while your on the "bull" and don't hold on and try to stay on.

#6 ·