The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Riding Critique! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/riding-critique-56998/)

zjcgw 06-10-2010 08:41 PM

Riding Critique!

4 Attachment(s)
Please critique my riding :)

P.S. I am aware that my hands are flat and I need to open my hip angle (working on it :)

Salila 06-10-2010 09:00 PM

It seems in the top picture that you are a bit ahead of his motion, but then again, I am no expert in jumping. In the image of s/he and you trotting along, you are really leaning forward, but, everything is in line properly, but only technically. You should be sitting more straight up, with your back, from your tailbone to the vertebrae in your neck as perfectly vertical as you can get. Ear, shoulder, elbow, hip, and heel should be in a perfect vertical line, but your hip is far behind that line, and your elbows a little forward.

It also seems to me that you are sitting further back on your butt instead of on your seat bones. From the side, it should like like you're standing with your knees slightly bent.

On the positive, the line from your elbow to the horses mouth is practically perfect, but your hands are a little funny, as you have already noted. Your heels are nice and you are looking forward, not down, which is great.

Edit: Now that I've looked at it again, perhaps you are leaning forward because of your stirrups. They seem a little short.

AfterParty 06-11-2010 09:24 AM

The only thing I really notice is that when your horse jumps it looks as though you throw yourself into the jump . In the second photo you have your bum high and your chest right on your horse .

You are a beautiful rider I like the way you ride and your horse is gorgeous .

maura 06-11-2010 09:50 AM