The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   Hunter jumping??? (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/hunter-jumping-57090/)

sarahver 06-11-2010 08:14 PM

Hunter jumping???

So... I went and had a lesson at a Hunter Jumper barn today, as we don't have that dicipline back home and I wanted to see what it was all about. My background is three day eventing (also did straight showjumping and dressage to train). I haven't evented competitively in a few years and now that I moved to America I am figuring out the horse scene over here before I decide whether to go back to eventing or try something new.

Well I really enjoyed the lesson and found the jumps very rideable and enjoyable, I only jumped 3' to 3'6, just taking things slowly to begin with. What I did NOT enjoy was the fact that the horse I took the lesson on (very successful hunter jumper) was incredibly slow, and has been trained to stop dead if you don't kick at EVERY stride bar the last few strides before the jump itself. And I mean KICK!

For all of you out there who show hunter jumpers, is this typical? I think I may stick to showjumping/eventing if that is the case...

Let me know your thoughts, comments and experiences!

maura 06-12-2010 06:39 AM

NO, it's not typical at all. You may have been on a really tough old school horse.

On a good hunter, once you establish your pace on your opening hunter circle, you do very little except steer to the next line, maybe sit up a little in the corner to set up for the changes.

On a greener hunter, you may have to monitor pace and rebalance down the lines and reestablish correct pace in the corners, but kick down to every fence? Uh Uh.

sarahver 06-12-2010 07:55 AM