The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Self-Taught Riding? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/self-taught-riding-58940/)

JessicaGDA 07-05-2010 02:37 PM

Self-Taught Riding?

What are your thoughts on self-taught riding without taking riding lessons? Or already knowing the basics of riding, but learning the advanced stuff on your own?

I heard of this the other day and didn't know what to think about it... sounds like it could be dangerous, but maybe beneficial in some ways too?

kmacdougall 07-05-2010 02:46 PM

You cannot see the whole horse while riding it.
As I have said before - natural ability is one thing but there is no substitute for the help of a professional.

A knack for horses 07-05-2010 02:57 PM

I always have been encouraged to "srew around with horses". I don't mean do stupid stuff with them, but try things.

That is how I learned to ask a horse to pivot. It had been puzzling me for about two years, and about two weeks ago I figured it out. I was just riding quietly around the pasture and I thought, "what if I put my foot a little out of postion?" So I put my right foot a little farther back than proper riding postion, and gave a few little kicks. And then the horse moved her hind end to the left!

I was so excited that I got a horse to do it! Of course, My instructor was nearby, so I knew if something went terribly wrong, at least somebody would know what to do.

Part of learning is discovery. I would try a few things by myself, but I still want an instructor or somebody knowledgeable around to correct me when I'm wrong or help me perfect my technique.

Scoutrider 07-05-2010 03:05 PM