The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Meet the Community (http://www.horseforum.com/meet-community/)
-   -   New to The Horse Forum and Liking it! (http://www.horseforum.com/meet-community/new-horse-forum-liking-59329/)

stonehorsedesigns 07-09-2010 08:54 PM

New to The Horse Forum and Liking it!

I am new to The Horse Forum. Iíve been hanging out here and have enjoyed what Iíve seen and I have also learned a lot. It seems like a really nice group of people, but then horse people usually are.
I have 4 horses and I used to do dressage and show. I have loved horses since I was a kid, had a pony since I was eight. When my husband-to-be asked me what kind of ring I wanted, I immediately thought he was talking about an arena and told him one with some nice footing. (And he thought diamonds were expensive!)
A couple of years ago, I got really sick and for about 3 years, could barely do anything, I felt like I had the flu for months on end. I could hardly move without a lot of pain. My husband (the same one who I misunderstood when he said ring - too bad he didnít know what he was in for) took care of the laundry, dishes and the horses.
I am so thankful to him that I didnít have to give them up. Iím feeling a little better now, I have bad days, but at least Iím having some good days. I have been able to brush them and give them treats and let my son get used to being around them. Iím not strong enough to ride yet but just being able to go out and be with them is just so exciting and fulfilling that I really donít have words to explain how happy it makes me. Let me tell you. You donít realize what a real blessing and privilege it is to be able to walk out to the barn and spend time with these wonderful animals.