The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Barrel Racing (http://www.horseforum.com/barrel-racing/)
-   -   Loves it at home, but not at a show (http://www.horseforum.com/barrel-racing/loves-home-but-not-show-59572/)

PintoBean 07-12-2010 04:08 PM

Loves it at home, but not at a show

At home I have been practicing barrel racing for a couple of months. My horse does great at home, ( can only go at the canter my field is so small, except we can run home). When we went to a show he would not gallop and bucked a ton. At first, I took off my spurs, and used a whip instead, and he still bucked. Yet, with no other aids he will not gallop. What can I do to get him to gallop/speed up?

BarrelRacer86 07-13-2010 01:46 PM

If it's his first show, don't. you can't expect him to gallope at a show if he's never even galloped at home yet. I seen alot of people push horses to go faster when there not ready, truth is you'll have a much better horse if you wait until the horse is ready to go fast. So what, your losing and going slow for awhile? It pays off in the end.

kassierae 07-17-2010 01:56 AM

Stop practicing the pattern or he'll get bored. Don't even bother with the pattern. None of my horses see the pattern except at shows.

Jillyann 07-25-2010 08:50 PM

If he is still learning, I would not push him at all. I would wait until you can gallop at home before even thinking to gallop at a show. Especially if this is his first season. That is a good way to make your horse hate getting on a trailer to go to shows.

JRL 08-09-2010 03:53 PM

I agree, stay slow and take your time. Make him do the pattern at the show but walk trot if you have to. Its a lot for a horse to get used to their first season or even their first show. And I wouldnt use a whip or even spurs on him if he is still learning. Especially at a show! dont make him hate it. Your horse should enjoy barrel racing as much as you do!!

Alwaysbehind 08-09-2010 04:13 PM

Great advice above.