The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

How do you know what level rider you are?

15K views 29 replies 18 participants last post by  VelvetsAB 
#1 ·
Are there certain levels?
(Not in showing - I just mean in general :D)

#2 ·
Not official levels, but levels like "beginner", "advanced beginner", "intermediate", "advanced intermediate", and advanced are typically used to classify riders in terms of their skill level. And professional, of course.

You base yourself off of what kind of horses you've worked with, how secure you are in the saddle, your position, abilities, etc.

#5 ·
Haha, okay, thank you :)
(let me know if you need any more info xP)

I'm 16 and I ride English and rode on and off for a year, but after that I have been riding 1-2 times a week for 2 years. I've never shown, but if I were, it'd be in Equitation. I've only ridden about 7-8 horses before. I walk/trot/canter - but have never galloped (on purpose). I can jump crossrails, verticals, lines, bounces, in-and-outs, oxers, swedish oxers, fan jumps. The highest I've jumped is 3 feet, but I jump 2'9 regularly.

(Now a lot of random info xP) I can clean/groom/tack up. I know how to take apart and put together tack. I have all my own riding clothes/boots/etc. I've partially leased a horse for a month before and will be doing that again this summer. I work 5 days a week at the barn. I've been run away with/stepped on/bucked. I've fallen off way more times than I can count. xP

-going to find pictures-

#7 ·
Here's my most recent video of me riding :

It's not that great because I just fell off a minute before the video. :/ (Which is why she's not cantering)

You can see other videos of me riding on my channel though. :D

#10 ·