The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

17 y/o OTTB

2K views 19 replies 11 participants last post by  MyBoyPuck 
#1 ·
Okay, so I've been looking for a great OTTB in my area for a while now. I finally found one that capable of doing what I want to do with him... Alot of the OTTBs that I've come across are either not sound or uglier than the devil (though those horses need homes too, but I'm not looking to adopt one as a pet).

I found this guy... he's an older horse, 17, but he's very experienced. The ad says he's not for beginners (which I'm not a beginner rider, but I don't have much experience in dressage or jumping). I LIKE that he's not for beginners, because he will give me a challenge and I will probably be able to learn from him. I have some really good connections with people very experienced in dressage/jumping/eventing that would be more than willing to help me get on my feet in the dressage/jumper arena with him.

Anyway, I was just wondering if you'd think he'd be worth going to try out and seeing how we get along.
The ad:

"Mr. Spontaneity aka Magnum, is a 17 year old Registered TB gelding. I rescued him 10 year ago. He's my good friend, but sadly, I can't keep him any longer. He is sound, has no vices, loads, clips, ties, plays well with other horses. He's been used for 1st and 2nd level dressage, hacking everywhere, and some jumping gymnastics. I enjoyed riding this horse for miles on canal banks and trails in Florida. He's not afraid of much, does anything I ask, and is safe to ride beside traffic. He's now in OKlahoma and has gotten used to deer, cattle and country traffic that does not slow for horses.