The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Just a simple question (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/just-simple-question-60261/)

corinowalk 07-21-2010 12:20 AM

Just a simple question

Why do you ride in your discipline? This is *NOT* an english vs western debate, just a simple question. I have always been curious about why people chose to ride in their particular discipline. I'll start!

Im Cori, I ride western. I never chose to ride western, it was the way I started riding way back when and learned to love it. Though I will occasionally ride english, I really do prefer the comfort and security of a western saddle. Theres just something that gets me about all that leather and tooling of a western saddle. That being said, i've never struggled with sitting the trot but I do struggle with posting in an english saddle. Strange, I know!

So...whats your discipline and why did you chose it?

Lovehorsesandrunning 07-21-2010 12:23 AM

I ride English, just because that's what I got lessons in when I was one elementary school and I really liked it, plus jumping(: I love jumping , I can ride western... I'm
Just not very good at it it seems harder to me so I just prefer English
Posted via Mobile Device

dizzynurse 07-21-2010 10:40 AM

It was never really a question for me I love everything about western. With that said I envy the people who ride english. It looks so gracefull and I am one of the clumsiest people in the world! lol

Speed Racer 07-21-2010 10:59 AM

Interesting question, Cori.

When I first got into horses, I fell in with a group of people who showed the A rated Arabian circuit. Some of these folks rode Western, some English.

Since I wanted to show Saddleseat and English Pleasure, I lessoned with a dressage trainer who taught me a balanced, English seat.