The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Critique on Belle? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/critique-belle-60576/)

ShinaKonga 07-24-2010 10:34 PM

Critique on Belle?

3 Attachment(s)
This is my first time trying to add pictures, so lets see how this works.
But anyway. This horse is Belle, a 16 year old mustang. She was adopted from a wild mustang roundup when she was two, and that was the last time she was ever in a trailer.
Belle is our family friend's horse. They have no use for her anymore, and are willing to give her to me under the circumstances that I can get her back to my home, which is a good four to five hours away.
Belle has also not been ridden very much in the past few years. Oddly enough, I climbed up on her after a year of having nobody on her back and she was perfectly fine.
I am concerned about her health and care, though. Our friends are lovely people who, I'm sure, care for her the best they can. But her pen is rather small and she rarely gets exercise, let alone a water bucket that doesn't have an inch of algae growing around it. I don't know what they feed her, but it doesn't look at all like hay. Some sort of cubes or pellets. Her droppings are round and hard, as if shes an overgrown rabbit.
But. Anyway. These are the best pictures I could get- the next time I go down to visit I'll get some better shots. Does she look healthy to you, oh dear horse forum experts? Do you think the long trip would hurt her more than help? Theres also a climate change- she lives in the desert, and we're mountain people. Perhaps it would be a good change? I'm very unsure. This would be my first purchase of a horse of my own. Usually I work with other people's horses, for the past several years.

Also- the first two pictures are in winter. After a storm that made her pen quite muddy. The last one was in the summer.

ShinaKonga 07-24-2010 11:09 PM