The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Stubborn Old(ish) Arab...is he worth it? (long) (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/stubborn-old-ish-arab-he-worth-61061/)

blink 07-30-2010 11:03 AM

Stubborn Old(ish) Arab...is he worth it? (long)

Right out of the gate I want you to know that I'm a noob. Just started riding seriously this year. I don't pretend to know much.

The first horse I bought (about two months ago) is a 17-year-old grade Arabian gelding. He's a mutt. If his skin color is any indication, he has some pinto/paint in him.

I bought him in hopes of making him a good all-around family horse for my daughters - ages 10, 11, and 15. Truth be told, at around 14.2 hh, he's a bit small for me.

The horse was vetted by someone I trust. I was told he is calm and takes cues well. He was previously ridden and shown in club events by an 11-year-old boy. When I first met the horse, that same boy caught him, saddled, him, and rode him around the pasture while I looked on. I saw nothing that disturbed me.

From the time we got him home, he and I have had trouble seeing eye-to-eye.

At a minimum, he's barn sour. He showed that tendency on just my second ride, where he managed to dump me on my a-- and break my rib.

I kept riding him, and under the ideal circumstances, he's a lot of fun. The ideal circumstances being that the mare he pastures with is along for the ride. My wife and I have enjoyed a number of really nice trail rides with her on the mare and me on the Arabian-mutt-child-of-satan.

Last night, encouraged by my recent success with him, I decided to take him out solo. It ended quickly, but without harm to me or the horse.

We had managed to cover less than 1/4 mile from the barn, when he started backing, side stepping, turning, and head bobbing. I believe he even attempted a buck with me in the saddle, but found lifting my weight to be too much effort.