The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   My Position (Dressage) (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/my-position-dressage-61543/)

Pro 08-05-2010 07:18 PM

My Position (Dressage)

2 Attachment(s)
I had my first dressage lesson a few days ago. I got to use a friends reining stallion for my lesson.

Please don't critique the horse. He is NOT mine.

I only have two pictures right now, but I will get more from the lesson.

Sorry, I know it's kinda hard to critique when my heads cut off, but just anything and everything that jumps out please say. I know I have A LOT to work on. I think my position looks pretty bad:-(.

ErikaLynn 08-05-2010 11:06 PM

I'm no dressage expert. But maybe bring your hands up more and shorten your reins a little and bring your lower leg more forward. I think your stirrups need to go down a hole or two. But not bad at all for your first dressage lesson.
Posted via Mobile Device

Arksly 08-05-2010 11:33 PM

^ her hands look pretty good to me. I find a good place is where the bottom of your hands is even with the top of the horses withers (as long as the withers aren't super high). But, I agree with the rest.

Azale1 08-05-2010 11:37 PM

Not too bad. Your stirrups would do better being dropped a hole or two just as Erika stated. With dressage you want a much longer leg. Your heal is down though and back where it should be. You do need to bring your elbows in towards your sides though. Think of touching your sides with your elbows and that is where they need to be. Your hands are correct. I would work on making more contact with your horses mouth though and shorten those reins a few inches.

ridergirl23 08-05-2010 11:41 PM