The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Plan For Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/plan-riding-61756/)

AnimalFarm2006 08-08-2010 07:00 PM

Plan For Riding

Hey all,

I was wondering what is a basic plan for riding. I'm an advanced beginner and don't start lessons for another three weeks. The horse I am riding is pretty good and knows his stuff. But I am still kind of picking and prodding what I want to do every time I ride. I ride English and plan on at least to be able to go out on a trail. Maybe go to a hunter pace this spring to ride the trail & handy course.

So I was wondering what part of my riding I should work on first? Like..

1 ride- Work on good circles
2 ride- Work on diagonals and leg yielding
3 ride- etc etc.

Also- At how far into riding should I be before I take Madhi for a trail ride? The place I ride has a few trails and I'm eager to try them. The old horse I rode we did more walking around the grounds than arena work. I went through a few gates for practice, around logs, over small logs, down a big hill into the woods, etc.

Brighteyes 08-08-2010 07:17 PM

I'm not sure if I can help you with your ridding, but I can offer some advice for riding. :wink: