The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Grain Schedules... (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/grain-schedules-61973/)

EveningShadows 08-11-2010 02:29 AM

Grain Schedules...

Just curious, what kind of feed schedule would you have a yearling stud colt on?

As of now he gets roughly 2 small scoops of soaked beet pulp, small scoop of complete feed, and 3/4 small scoop of sweet feed - twice a day. I know there are many prefered feed routines out there but I'm fairly new to daily graining since all our mares are VERY easy keepers! They gain 5 pounds just LOOKING at grain! Wish I had a picture of my scoop, it's not very big...this is the feed pan he uses and one feeding fills it 3/4 full.
[IMG]http://i821.photobucket.com/albums/zz134/Picture*****z/Cherokee/Cherokee017.jpg[/IMG]

And his body weight now (the woman that owned him before was feeding more, but added whole oats and hemp nuts?)
[IMG]http://i821.photobucket.com/albums/zz134/Picture*****z/Cherokee/Cherokee034.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://i821.photobucket.com/albums/zz134/Picture*****z/Cherokee/Aug7032.jpg[/IMG]

Anyway, interested to see what replies and advise I get from you guys! Thanks!

sams ron 08-11-2010 07:23 AM

Adjusting to the move is enough to handle at one time, so the closer you can keep the feed schedule to what he is used to, the less there will be a risk of colic or laminitis.
I would try to get to the new barn and do the 3rd feeding yourself, gradually extending the time until the final feeding is at 9 pm.