The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeding/)
-   -   To Breed or Not To Breed? That is the Question! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeding/breed-not-breed-question-62884/)

lilruffian 08-21-2010 02:54 PM

To Breed or Not To Breed? That is the Question!

6 Attachment(s)
Ok, so i've had several years experience with breeding, & have had 2 foals out of my own older Welsh, QH cross mare in 2008 & 2009 at the age of 16 & 17. I wasn't too worried about it, because she was in good condition & had had 2 foals in the past before i owned her.
My aunt also has a couple older broodmares who are still producing healthy foals, but again, they have experience.
What i'm thinking is that i would love to breed my Arabian mare to a particular Friesian stallion possibly next spring. I would like a foal out of her before she's way too old & don't want to cross a horse that gorgous with my new mare (not that she doesn;t have great looks herself, but she's not my desired cross to this stud).
Chico is a wonderful riding horse with alot of spirit & she's healthy, however she will be 17 next year & i have no clue whether she's ever been bred. The chances are good, but who knows? Im trying to get ahold of her previous owners to find out.
What i want opinions on is whether i should try for next year:-|
The foal will be for me (i've always wanted a friesian or friesian cross but it's too expensive to go out & buy one!)
I would get Chico vet checked beforehand of course to see what they say...
Here's a pic of her & of the stud:wink:

equiniphile 08-21-2010 03:08 PM

Wow, that stud and your mare are both gorgeous.

What do you want in a foal? Do the mare or stallion have the attributes you'd want in a foal, or something you want to carry on? Is your only concern the mare's health?

Piaffe 08-21-2010 03:30 PM

I think it would make a fantastic cross!
Posted via Mobile Device

lilruffian 08-21-2010 04:20 PM

Quote: