The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Horse With Bad Manners (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/horse-bad-manners-62897/)

Stella 08-21-2010 04:59 PM

Horse With Bad Manners

I ride a jumper horse named Lara and she is very rude and pushy. She apparently has some problem with settling who is the leader...
I'm a beginner myself, how do I deal with her?

Scoutrider 08-21-2010 05:13 PM

It's kind of a broad question, but the short answer is to set limits and boundaries, and enforce them. Bit like parenting, really. :lol:

For example, if she pushes into your space, drive her out. Back her away, or yield her forehand/hindquarter (whatever portion of her anatomy is in the way) away from you. If she won't respond to your body language (hard eyes, raised energy, pushing her with your hands), you may need a dressage whip or NH-style stick to back up your request. Once she moves her feet out of your space, go back to doing what you were doing.

Take no crap, but be fair. Neither nag nor beat.

I assume from the phrasing of your OP that you're working with a trainer/instructor? If so, he/she should be able to guide you in person, and give you some more specific insights. If not, and your difficulties escalate, I recommend enlisting the help of a more experienced horseman to help you out.

Best of luck! :-)

Stella 08-21-2010 05:34 PM

Thank you so much, Scoutrider!!!

Stella 08-21-2010 05:35 PM

Wait a sec.. C. S. lewis? What does he know about horses?

SPhorsemanship 08-21-2010 05:53 PM

I don't think you should have been put with that horse in the first place before learning ground skills or how to handle this particular horse. How bad is the horse? She shouldn't be too bad if they put a less experienced person with her(no offense).

Could you give examples of what she does?

Scoutrider 08-21-2010 06:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stella (Post 726084)