The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Am I a Good Rider? (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/am-i-good-rider-62957/)

Stella 08-22-2010 03:32 PM

Am I a Good Rider?

Im a beginner rider. Ive been riding for a year, all english. Recently, I learn to jump at a trot and how to canter. This girl that was in my lesson jumped on her sixth lesson.

Also, ive cantered before. My lesson horse started cantering by mistake on my seventh lesson. I decided to try it out nice and proper on the lunge line. It went well. but after, she lurched in to a canter off the lunge line, real awkward and I just slid off. Don't ask me why. I just got a bunch of bruises but also this awful fear of cantering. I just got over it and started again, but I feel like an awful rider, especially with the jumping thing.:cry:

kitten_Val 08-22-2010 04:12 PM

Jumping is not all that easy to start even for someone with riding experience. Also a year of riding lessons (given you just ride once a week) is indeed not all that much. Dont' be disappointed. I know some barns where people start jumping very soon, and IMHO it's very dangerous. You have to establish good trot/canter before you go into jumping. Just take things slowly, everyone has own speed. I assure you good canter will come with experience!

Stella 08-22-2010 09:07 PM

Thank you... I guess that you're right

A knack for horses 08-22-2010 09:44 PM

I had practiced loping for 3 years before I got a beautiful, collected, proper lope. And in that time, I have fallen off twice while riding at the lope. (once while bareback and the second was in a WP class. The horse heard my instructor talking and she did this weird short stride and I sailed through the air)It will come, but only with practice.