The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Proper Bit for a horse that likes to go? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/proper-bit-horse-likes-go-63064/)

EasyintheSaddle 08-23-2010 07:47 PM

Proper Bit for a horse that likes to go?

Hi-

About a month ago I started riding a horse whose previous owner had incredibly heavy hands. He leans on the bit and when I use contact his head comes up and he works to avoid the bit. I have switched him to a Waterford, and he goes good in it. He doesnt lean on it, and has begun coming forward into my hands and getting rounder.

However today, when I was on a trail ride, when we headed home he took off with me and I was forced to bail for my safety. I know all about the one-rein stop and all that, there just wasnt space to use it safely. Nothing I did worked. I know I have to return to basics, and do tons of work in the arena before we head out again, but I was hoping someone had some advice on bits?

I was reading up online about options and I was wondering if a hackamore would be a good option? He is so hard mouthed that I thought it may be a good option. What about training aides? Draw reins, running martingale etc. ?

Thank you all so much for your input!!

franknbeans 08-23-2010 08:38 PM