The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   What do you think about Clinton Andersons Training Methods (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/what-do-you-think-about-clinton-6347/)

hackin'around 02-24-2008 07:04 PM

What do you think about Clinton Andersons Training Methods

Hello Everyone! I am a newbie to the forum, and just wanted to get an idea of what people think about Clinton Andersons training methods? I see alot of members writing about Parelli, but not much a C.A. I have to say that I have bought the riding with confidence series, but have yet to try them out on my horse. My main goal is to develope a good foundation between me and my horse, and I have heard that natural horsemanship is the way to go. So has anyone else tried any of his stuff? and did you have good results? Thanks all. I look forward to your advice!!! :P

Spirithorse 02-24-2008 08:16 PM

I do not like Clinton's techiniques AT ALL. IMO he's too aggressive and his program is a one size fits all kind of deal. He seems to treat every horse, in every situation, the same with no concern for the horse's true personality and innate characteristics. He's very goal oriented and puts his goal before the horse's feelings in a lot of situations.

Just my opinion :wink:

Abby 02-24-2008 09:20 PM

As with what spirit horse said, Clinton Anderson's methods were too direct/harsh for my horse. I switched to Parelli which is more low key and he does well and he is learning INCREDIBLY fast. It took us less than THREE DAYS to graduate from level one. Some of his idea's work better than Parelli's but I like Parelli's overall program better. However, I am not the type of person who follows one trainer only, I mix and match to my horses liking or need.

ahearn 02-24-2008 11:01 PM