The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeds (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/)
-   -   Just curious... (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/just-curious-64132/)

corgi 09-06-2010 07:23 PM

Just curious...

4 Attachment(s)
My husband and I are hoping to lease the horses we have been riding for our lessons, Lucky and Silver. I am still learning about horse breeds so I want to know if we are correct about the breeds of these two horses.

From what I have read, Silver is a Pinto...but that is just a color, correct? Would you say that Silver is a Paint or a QH? Or something else?

Lucky is a liver chestnut? QH?

Any help would be appreciated. Like I said, we are still learning. We started riding a little later in life but have become "horse crazy" and can't get enough.

BarrelRacer86 09-06-2010 07:33 PM

pinto is just a color, any breed except QH and TB can be pintos. A paint is a breed, but they can have QH and TB bloodlines. QH can't have that much white on them, if they did it would be a crop out and be registered Paint even if all his lines are QH. but unless silver comes from paint or QH lines he's just a pinto not a paint. Not really sure what you want to know about the other one, if they say its a QH it looks like a QH

corgi 09-06-2010 10:52 PM

I haven't been told anything about their breeds....I am just guessing.

So, there is no way just by looking to know if Silver is a Paint? And do you just use the term Pinto if you don't know the breed?

PaintHorseMares 09-06-2010 11:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by corgi (Post 740879)
So, there is no way just by looking to know if Silver is a Paint?

There is no way to know by looking since a registered (APHA) Paint has parentage requirements, i.e. at least one parent must be a registered Paint (the other can be a registered QH or TB).

Quote:

And do you just use the term Pinto if you don't know the breed?