The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeding/)
-   -   Should I breed this mare? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeding/should-i-breed-mare-64158/)

darkpaloma 09-07-2010 12:21 AM

Should I breed this mare?

3 Attachment(s)
This is my mare Paloma she is healthy sane and sound 15.2 hands and 14 years old. I want to know should I breed, I am a trainer in training lol and was wondering what type of stallion to breed her too because of her long back I am only looking to get one foal out of her so this will be my first and last foaling, I have done the needed research on breeding itself such as medical costs Etc, But I just don't know what to breed her too, it will be a Quarter Horse and it wont be registered, however I would like to have something that looks good and doesn't turn out to be a lemon. Paloma is the most level headed horse I have ever had, she is smart willing and I would go as far to say completely trust worth a 3 year old could ride her all day no bad habits and as far as I can tell no hereditary defects other than the long back, please help If I decide to breed her it will be next year around June or July. So let me know show me some pics of good looking sires and I will got from there, I am on the Texas Oklahoma Border and can get sires from either state. Thanks and Have A Good One!

Charis 09-07-2010 12:29 AM

"I would like to have something that looks good and doesn't turn out to be a lemon."

If you want to be certain of a horse's conformation or soundness, buy one that's already on the ground. Imo, this mare shouldn't be bred; her conformation is less than ideal and it sounds like you should re-think why you want to breed. Unwanted Registered horses are a dime a dozen right now; Unregistered Unwanted horses stand a better chance of a one-way ticket to a packing plant than finding a good home.

Solon 09-07-2010 12:34 AM