The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   Beginner interested in jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/beginner-interested-jumping-64358/)

Pilot 09-09-2010 07:10 AM

Beginner interested in jumping

I'm interested in learning how to jump yet I cannot afford lessons because of being a student with little income. Is there another way to learn? My horse and I are as green a spring grass so I completely understand we need to begin with simple things but I do not know where I can find the information on correct body form and what I can substitute for expensive jumping supplies(hay bales maybe?).
Any information, words of wisdom, tips or videos are appreciated.
Thank you

ErikaLynn 09-09-2010 10:19 AM

You really need a trainer for jumping. It's a dangerous thing to learn on your own. Especially since you and your horse are very green

Regan7312 09-09-2010 10:25 AM

I am a student with a small income and I work my butt off at my barn to be able to ride, along with my other job and school. find a barn and see if you can do work in exchange for riding/lessons.
i would not try to learn alone, that could be disastrious and lead to bad habits.

equiniphile 09-09-2010 10:30 AM

Yes, it's expencive, but lessons are the only way someone should learn to jump, especially with a green rider and horse. Please don't use hay bales to learn on, either. If the horse's foot were to get caught in it....

kitten_Val 09-09-2010 12:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Regan7312 (Post 744173)
I am a student with a small income and I work my butt off at my barn to be able to ride, along with my other job and school. find a barn and see if you can do work in exchange for riding/lessons.
i would not try to learn alone, that could be disastrious and lead to bad habits.

I second that. I know at least 3 or 4 jumping and eventing barns. You work there and get lesson as a pay.

Pilot 09-09-2010 09:20 PM