The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   First he is herd bound now he is eating his stall. (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/first-he-herd-bound-now-he-64745/)

LittlemanRob 09-14-2010 12:52 PM

First he is herd bound now he is eating his stall.

Hello everyone. I'm glad I discovered this place. I didn't know such a thing existed and there is a ton of info here.

I'm new to the country and horses. Been a city boy all my life until May of this year. I sold my business and decided to take a year off work period and relax a bit. I've not had a vacation in 15 years so this is it.

I have a smallish place, only 4 acres but its nice and divided into two pastures, one about 1/2 acre and the other about 2 acres. The rest is trees, yard etc.

I started with 2 goats donated by a family member who sold their farm and moved to the city.

Not wanting to rush into things with a big horse we decided to buy an adorable mini foal from a neighbor to learn the ropes. The mini has been great. He was about 4 months old when we got him and he is a very well behaved, well mannered fellow now.

I started shopping around for a riding horse. I wanted one that was older, well mannered, with no vices. After shopping for months I settled on a 20 year old Quarter/App cross. He was great there. Rode him a few times, lunged him, got to know him and really liked him.