The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   General Off Topic Discussion (http://www.horseforum.com/general-off-topic-discussion/)
-   -   Anybody ever have this HF problem? (http://www.horseforum.com/general-off-topic-discussion/anybody-ever-have-hf-problem-64788/)

kmacdougall 09-14-2010 08:11 PM

Anybody ever have this HF problem?
 
First of all, I\'m posting this here so I\'ll get some more opinions then if I posted in \'Using the HorseForum\'.

I recently moved back to university, where our internet service provider is Distributel. I can\'t get on HF! Everytime I try, it says \"cannot find server\". So I tried with my roommates computer - no dice. I can get on when I use the school\'s wireless network, but it\'s obvious my ISP is, for some reason, not letting me on. Even just to write this I had to use a proxy server.

Any ideas?

smrobs 09-14-2010 08:32 PM

Sorry, I have not a clue. I'm not very tech savvy, though I hope someone else can help you out.

Carleen 09-15-2010 03:19 AM

Have you tried using different web browsers?

Alwaysbehind 09-15-2010 08:03 AM

I have had that problem before with other areas of the internet.

My IT people told me it had to do with the routing of the signal through various servers (is that the right word you tech savvy people?) and the delay that can happen at them.

I went months (like six actually) not being able to get on one web site (checked daily) and then just as randomly I could get on it again.

Hopefully some one more tech savvy than me can explain it better than I did.

Mike_Admin 09-15-2010 08:38 AM

Hi kmacdougall,

I'm sorry for the inconvenience. I'm happy to do what I can to try to help, though.

tracert is a utility that should already be on your computer and is used to trace the route of packets to a particular destination. It can be used to determine where packets hit dead ends along their journey. If you wouldn't mind running tracert from your computer and pm'ing me the results, I'll be happy to investigate it for you.

Alwaysbehind 09-15-2010 08:41 AM

Mike, you made tons more sense than I did. That is (I think) what our IT guys talked about when I had my problem.

kmacdougall 09-15-2010 01:14 PM

Thanks for the replies guys - Mike, the instructions are for Windows, and I\'m on Mac. Gonna do a little research of my own to see if I can figure out how to do it on Mac :)

My2Geldings 09-15-2010 02:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kmacdougall (Post 749878)
Thanks for the replies guys - Mike, the instructions are for Windows, and I\'m on Mac. Gonna do a little research of my own to see if I can figure out how to do it on Mac :)

Mike is ultimately the one who'll be able to help you with this, but I did have that issue a few years ago with my Apple. Make sure you run the most current updates on your machine. Something there are some glitches with the web browsers which are corrected with the most recent updates or upgrades.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0