The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Bitless Bridles (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/bitless-bridles-65138/)

sdellin 09-19-2010 12:36 PM

Bitless Bridles

Hello All,

My mare has been giving me so much trouble when I ride with a bit. I have only had her a couple of months. I noticed when I got her that her palete seemed pretty low. I'm no expert, so I mentioned it to my trainer. She didn't think much of it then. Bella had three months of professional training previously, but that trainer has a pretty ugly reputation. When my trainer first rode her, we found that she is broke, responsive to aids and very willing. She's a great horse.

But lately when I ride, Bella will stretch her neck out and twist he head over, constantly mouthing the bit as if it's uncomfortable. Got the trainer to look closer and she agreed the palete is low, we compare her to other horses at the barn. Bella acted the same way when my trainer rode her. That same day we both rode her with a halter and 2 lead ropes. She was like a different horse. I was so much more comfortable riding her. Although it took a lot of strength since I had no bit.

So here's what I ordered and I'd like to get any opinions you have on these items:
* Micklem Multibridle - I've been looking at this one for a while anyway, so I'm going to try it. Apparently it has three settings for 3 levels of control.
* Herm Sprenger Short Shank Hackamore
* The Pee Wee Bit - this is a very thin bit, but it's supposed to be gentle.

I rode Bella in a lunging cavason the other day and she was responsive. She even folllowed voice aids. I do believe the problem is the bit, I've tried several. So I'm hoping one of these will give me the control I need.

Thanks for any opionions/advice.

smrobs 09-19-2010 04:17 PM