The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Any advice on long reining? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/any-advice-long-reining-65942/)

speedy da fish 09-29-2010 04:09 AM

Any advice on long reining?

I am doing an Equine course at university and some of it involves long reining, which i have never done before! Do any of you have any advice for me on it? do any of you do it? can i have some pictures? :) Thanks x

Alwaysbehind 09-29-2010 06:43 AM

I can not help you Speedy, I just started learning how to do this myself.

I look forward to the answers you get.

speedy da fish 09-30-2010 08:19 AM

me too!

momo3boys 09-30-2010 09:13 AM

I need to do this too! I ho0pe someone answers this...

Alwaysbehind 09-30-2010 09:15 AM

AB jumps around and waves her arms frantically in the the air and screams - Hey you people who know how to long line, come over here and talk to us, please!

NittanyEquestrian 09-30-2010 09:37 AM

This is difficult to answer. Are you long lining, ground driving, working in hand? Are you doing it to teach them to steer? To learn to carry themselves in correct frame before starting undersaddle training? Are you starting to teach them to drive? There are so many ways to "long line" that specifics would be nice to start.

Generally speaking you want a correctly fitting surcingle with lines at least 15 feet long and I prefer separate lines but they do make some that have a clasp like english reins that you can buckle them to make them easier to work with. You need a whip of some kind and gloves are important as well.

Now there is NO POINT in attempting to long line a horse unless you have established willing forward movement on the lunge line and while leading. A horse that won't go forward on the lunge line, more than likely won't go forward when long lining them.