The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Learning to Ride - Questions on competitions?

2K views 18 replies 11 participants last post by  beau159 
#1 ·
How old were you when you started showing/competing? And how long had you been riding? Who helped you get started, or did you just wing it? I'd love to get into roping, penning or barrel racing (for fun, not really competing) but I'm not sure how/when you get started. Are there ways, even in the beginning, if you can tell if someone would be a good fit for any of those?

#2 ·
I was 4 or 5 when I started riding by myself and showing by myself. In barrel racing. My mom does barrels, and so does the majority of my family. As for you, just go to barns or look online for local open shows. Go watch or bring your horse along to "play" as for deciding what you want to do I suggest watching different shows and getting a feel for the atmosphere in each, then going and taking lessons in that dicipline to see if you really do like it or not. It's not about fit, it's about what you enjoy doing and having the right horse to do it with.

#8 ·
It's not about fit, it's about what you enjoy doing and having the right horse to do it with.
I guess that would make sense for any sport!! I don't have a horse so I suppose that leaves me to figure out what I like and then find a horse that could do it!! Thanks!

#3 ·
I have to agree. I have ridden my whole life, did some junior rodeo stuff and play days. When I was eleven, I got my first highly competitive show horse. His name was Peavy, and I got him half-way through the show season. I ended up fourth place rookie of the year. My trainer at the time was my gaming trainer, and she helped me out so much. When I was thirteen, I started going to a youth/non-pro all-around trainer, and my showing improved so much, so fast, that everybody was surprised. A few years ago, I took some dressage lessons, but I found that I didn't like that as much as what I was already doing.