The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Lessons or not? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/lessons-not-66286/)

moores77 10-04-2010 01:00 AM

Lessons or not?

Hey guys, i'm pretty new at owning/riding horses. And i'm wondering what your opinion is on riding lessons. I can ride a horse, i'm just still pretty green with them. I've ridden them on and off all of my life. Do you think everyone should take riding lessons? Or is experience the best teacher? I've thought about taking lessons, but there isn't really a place close to me that gives them. (there is one in a town near by, but they dont' let you use your own horse.) I'd rather use my own horse to train with. What do ya think?? Are they necessary to ride?

Spastic_Dove 10-04-2010 01:03 AM

They're not necessary but they're immensely helpful and will help you progress a lot quicker. I am self taught but started taking consistent lessons about a year ago and the improvement is worth the money.
You can always do your "homework" on your horse and just ride the lesson horse for new concepts.

Cinnys Whinny 10-04-2010 01:21 AM

I really encourage anyone to get lessons if it's in their means, even if they are the best riders. I thought I was good, but lessons have proven to make me a much better rider. My trainer still takes lessons, and the few clinicians that have come to our stable have even said that they still take lessons.

You just never stop learning and taking lessons leaves you open to learning even more :)

kitten_Val 10-04-2010 08:31 AM