The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Flighty Horse With NO Breaks (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/flighty-horse-no-breaks-66331/)

LoveTheSaddlebreds 10-04-2010 02:20 PM

Flighty Horse With NO Breaks

So I recently started riding with my friend at her barn where they have this beautiful black and white paint mare named China. She's the sweetest horse in the world, but no one but me likes riding her. She's got a few quirks from her last rider that have made her very difficult to ride. When doing flat work, the first few minutes she'll be pretty excited and you have to slowly give her the reins, if you start out with loose reins she'll bolt, but if you keep them tight the whole time, she'll never relax. So I figured out how to keep her nice on the flat, I just keep relaxed, sit deep in the saddle and ease up on the reins when I feel her starting to calm down. after five minutes, I can ride with normal contact (havent tried pleasure reins past walking) with cantering, you have to canter a lap collected so she knows you want her slow before you can give her the reins.

When she gets near a jump, even if she's not jumping, she gets excited and speeds up and her head shoots up. If you jump her without really holding her head and sitting back as much as you can, she'll take off like a bullet. And thats REALLY not an exaggeration. She will launch herself at full gallop if she feels the slightest release. At first, I thought maybe it was because I was collecting her so much and it was making her pissy, but she's sooo much worse if you ride with a normal rein. And sometimes she'll over jump then dig her head down and take off afterwards.