The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   Being strong and rushing (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/being-strong-rushing-66872/)

MadamKing 10-10-2010 09:02 PM

Being strong and rushing

Now I want to start fresh on this forum, so I would appreciate anyone who read my dressage post to put it behind them and help me on another subject, preferably with more constructive criticism this time.

Ok, so,
I recently (September) bought a TB X Andalusian gelding, 15 years old named Corey. Apparently he was an eventer before i got him, but recently I tried to jump him and he is EXTREMELY strong and rushes the jumps. I don't want to use a double bridle on him as I've never used one before, but my normal bit are not doing their job. I've tried:-
*Eggbutt jointed snaffle
*Lugging/racing/ring bit
*Western curb (which he hated)
*Dee-ring copper roller snaffle
*Gag
In the eggbutt, its like riding him in a halter. In the ring bit, he is a little better but opens his mouth, the western curb made him tuck his head in as if he were doing rollkur and if I put pressure on the reins he stopped and jogged and threw his head. The Dee snaffle was a bit better but he reefed and he throws his head with the gag.

I need help as he has good form over jumps when he gets over the jump and he's very bold
Thanks

kitten_Val 10-10-2010 09:08 PM

Have you tried loose ring? I switched from french link eggbutt to oval mouth loose ring on my very forward paint and I must say I could feel the difference. Funny enough my qh hated the loose ring.

Sorry for the dumb question, but are you allowed to jump in double bridle in shows? I've never seen jumpers/hunters to use it around here (may be on BIG competitions, I don't know).

MadamKing 10-10-2010 09:19 PM